An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument suggests to increase the vitamin A deficiency among the people in the nation of Tagus the government have to engineer a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A. In this argument, the author have made some unwarranted assumptions which we have to evaluate first. The author did not mention about the subsidy that government is willing to give to the farmers. Also, by how much amount the new breed of millet is to be included. Due to all this parameters, the argument is implausible.

To begin with, the author put forwards the point that by introducing a new breed of millet the vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus will be improvised. Here, the author fails to tell by what amount the new breed of millet should be included in the fields. Also, the author did not gave an idea if the newly designed millet is going through any human trials or not? Will it be beneficial for the humans or not? Is it suitable for the human beings? Will it be useful to increase the vitamin A level in humans? etc factors need to be explained by the author because we can not tell anything for sure.

In addition to this, the author fails to mention how much subsidy is going to give to the farmers. What are the prices for the newly designed millet? How is it going to help the economical growth of the Tagus? If the government is providing with 50% of subsidy amount and the millet cost more than than amount. In this case, the subsidy is not going to help by any mean to the people of the Tagus.

Furthermore, the author states that as millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. This point is not convincing here. The author fails to explain whether the new variety of millet tastes same as the regular millet or not. Is it same in shape, color, texture, and taste? What if the new millet is artificially developed and tastes very different than the regular one ? People will definitely say no to the new millet then.

While there is nothing wrong to expect that if the Tagus government wants to promote the new variety of vitamin A millet more information regarding this issue is necessary in order to convince critics that how the deficiency of the vitamin A among people will likely to decrease.The author fails to present sufficient information that would persuade more skeptic readers. The argument would have been plausible if author explains some valid evidences.