Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Many people have different beliefs about whether young children should be allowed to watch television advertisements or not. I agree with the provided statement the young children are too naive to understand, and often simply copy the things learned from their surroundings.

First and foremost, children aged between two to five is simply put, not very old. They don't have the ability to tell what is good for them and what is not. For example, my three-year-old niece is very interested in television commercials. One day she saw an advertisement for an umbrella, a girl was holding it in the air and was happily flying down towards the ground. Because of this, she tried to mimic this same act in her room causing her to fall on the ground. So the advertisements have a direct impact on young minds. Children don't know how to react to these advertisements, as a result, they just follow what they have seen advertised.

Secondly, I also believe that it would be a mistake to allow young children to see advertisements because they are more likely to make wrong choices for themselves. The company wants to establish its brand value using the creative advertisement. Also, the advertisement industry just wants to sell its products. Due to this fact, young kids easily get attracted to these innovative commercials. For instance, when they see different toys on television, and would definitely demand every toy irrespective of whether they really need that toy which they have seen on television.

Finally, advertisements affect children's health. A high percentage of advertisements targeting children feature candy, fast foods, and snacks, and that exposure to such advertising increases consumption of these products. Due to this, bad eating habits are developed in young children, causing them to eat junk food all the time. Most importantly, studies have shown that product preferences affect children's product purchase requests and that these requests do influence parents' purchasing decisions.

To put it briefly, it is critically important to forbid young children from watching advertisements. They have yet to mature in order to differentiate between right and wrong things. As mentioned, children at that age not ready to make decisions. Also, I feel parents should monitor their children and decide what they should watch on television.