The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director, it is stated that in order to increase the attendance for Super Screen-produced movies they need to allocate most of the budget towards advertising. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that fewer people attended the movies at the theatre because they are unaware of the positive reviews of the film. However, the author supports his argument with some unstated questions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. In order for the argument to be valid, three questions must be answered and analyzed.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence, that the decrease in the count of people is due to the unawareness of positive reviews. The author needs to answer the question of whether the attendance of the audience is significant? By how many numbers has the decrease in the number has occurred? Perhaps previously there were 100 people who attended the screening, out of this 100 people only 50 showed up for the next movie. It is possible that these 50 people do not affect much in the decision of allocating most budget toward advertising. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn by the author in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, another question that the author needs to answer is are there any other factors that might have affected the reduced viewerships? Perhaps the author of the memo is basing his claim on only the percent decrease value here. It is likely that people do not like the topics or the theme of the movies, and it is also possible that they have a variety of other options available nearby at a better price range. For example, if there are many theatres in the neighborhood, it is possible that the crowd might divert to other possible available movies. If this is the case, then the author's claim is unwarranted and his argument does not hold water.

Finally, the argument fails to answer the question regarding the return of the people to Super Screen movies. How many people will come back after advertising? Here, the author assumes the role of advertising might help regain viewership. It is possible that people are aware of the advertising and are not willing to come back because they are busy in their lives. Perhaps, the author should study other reasons before allocating the budget. If that were the case, then the conclusion is not entirely accurate.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated questions. If the author is able to provide the answers to the above-mentioned questions and perhaps conduct the systematic study, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to allocate most of the budget for advertising.