"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is about the survey conducted by Dr. Field on the nurturing of children on island of Tertia twenty years ago. It is stated that Dr. Field’s observational approach which tells us that children were trained by people from an entire village than their own biological parents. Further, Dr. Karp submitted other interview-based approach and cited that children do talk about their biological parents more than the villagers. Hence, observational centered approach of Dr. Field should be considered invalid. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three assumptions if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes, without evidence, that the cultural situation on Tertia 20 years ago is similar to the culture that is followed by the people 20 years later. Dr. Field conducted the observational based study and perhaps his results were accurate. On the other hand, Dr. Karp came to different conclusions only because the cultural practices on Tertia have changed in the past twenty years. It is possible that during the time when Dr. Field conducted the research people used to live as a joint family. Thus, every member of the family was involved in nurturing the children. Now, there may be possibility that living situations have been nuclear as compared to previous years. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the author’s contention that Dr. Field’s study is invalid does not hold water.

Secondly, the author prematurely assumes that the extent to which the children talk about their biological parents is correlated with how they were raised. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the children who are raised by an entire village talk more than other kids, and that’s why they tend to mention their parents more. It is likely that though the villagers train the children together and still the children most closely identify with their parents. If above is true, then the author’s claim is not warranted and his suggestion that Dr. Field’s study should be rejected is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that Dr. Field’s research methodology and the results were inaccurate, does that mean we should consider the observational model as wrong method than interview-based approach? Perhaps, Dr. Field did conduct the study in error, leading to several notable inaccuracies. It is likely that Dr. Field was not that meticulous while performing the observational approach. A more diligent anthropologist might be able to successfully utilize the observation-based approach without issues. If that were the case, then the conclusion drawn by the argument is not entirely accurate.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide explanation regarding unstated assumptions, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the conclusion that Dr. Field’s observational study is invalid.