A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

__________

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the proposed argument, it is stated that a pet food company should not invest more resources in the investigation of the recalled pet food because the recalled food is not the cause for adverse symptoms found in pets. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that the chemicals which were used in the pet foods are legally allowed for the production of pet products. However, the author supports this argument with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence, that complaints received by the company regarding the pets who suffered from symptoms like vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness are because of the pet food which they consumed. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps there are some other factors involved that are responsible for the lethargic behavior in pets. It is possible that the weather observed around this season is harsh for many animals, and this was reflected on pets' health. It is also possible that these complaints were made by a very few numbers of people or perhaps by the specific rival company's loyal customers to take the company's reputation to the ground. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the argument readily claims that or cites that the company's method for studying the samples of pet food is reliable, and it generates correct results, but this may not necessarily be true. Perhaps that author is basing his claim on complete trust in his employee's working procedures. It is likely that the scientist who performed various experiments and tests on the samples were with a biased perspective and hence provided the results in favor of the company. It is possible that the tester did perform only five out of twenty essential tests on the food that gave faulty test outputs. If this is the case, then the argument claim is not warranted and his suggestion that the company should not invest its capital in a further investigation is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that the company did perform and test all samples of the pet food and that these tests resulted in a positive output. The author assumes that only the chemical used in the product can deteriorate the food's quality, not the background processes such as the hygiene of the company environment. It is possible that products might have been handled with less seriousness towards the cleanliness of the surroundings. Or perhaps while transporting these pet food bags they might have been contaminated due to bad temperature settings. All of these should be tested further. If it is true that samples were not in the good condition while handling the product, then the author's assertion is invalid and his recommendation will do little justice to convince that no further investigation is required.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the required evidence and perhaps conduct a systematic research study, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation not to give funds for the investigation of the pet food products.