Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The claim that students at Omega University are not getting better jobs because of practice of student evaluation which has inflated marks of students. Hence, University should cease stdent evaluation of professors. Stated in this way, argument is full of assumptions and it fails to mention several key factors based on which argument could be evaluated. The conclusion is based on assumption for which ther is no clear evidence. Therefore, argument is weak, unsupported and has several flwas.

First, author readily assumes that introducing new process of staff appraisal by students is the only reason that has contributed to rise of overall student grade. One cannot deny that, many things could have changed over this time period that resulted in increase of overall performance of students. For instance, availability of computers and internet has increased due to which students have access to almost everything. So, they can get all the information required for their exams in internet. Similarly, university curriculam, faculties or exam structure could have changed which resulted in improvement of grades. Without considering these factors we cannot conclude the reason for grade improvement.

Second, there is direct correlation between staff appraisal by students and overall grade improvement. While it could be true that some lecturers give better grades hoping they might get better appraisal from students, there is no evidence to support this fact. Moreover, potential employres assume that grade inflation does not reflect students achievement. There is no evidence to support this assumption. Maybe, Students at Omega university are actually studying hard and getting good marks. So, without explicit evidences to potential employers assumption we cannot evaluate this argument.

Third, argument claims that Omega University students are as successfull as Alpha University students. Again, there is no data provided such as curricula involved in both the Universities, faculty members, IQ rate of students in both the Universities job opportunites to compare success rate of students. In addition to this, argument concludes that to aquire better jobs, Omega University should terminate staff appraisal by students. Again, there is no evidence to support the fact that how this could improve the success rate of students.

In summary, argument is full of assumptions, flawed and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentioned all the relevant facts. In order to assess the merit of a situation it is necessary to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.