Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Although some people believe that Teachers salaries should be based on their students performance, I believe that there are many other significant factors that should be taken into account. By making the student's performance as salary constraint may introduce some negetive impacts.

First, one cannot deny the fact that every class will have different variety of kids. Some are bright and few are obtuse. If tutors salaries are based on student's performance, it won't do justice for good Teachers who are assigned for a class where overall performance is low. For instance, Teachers do not have the option to chose their students. So despite the good teaching abilities of a tutor, if a he get to teach a class that contain majority of kids who are very slow to learn, it is quite obvious that average performance of the class will be low. Similarly, another Teacher who is not very skilled at teaching is assigned to a class where majority of students are good performers in their academics. So, class overall performance will be high despite his bad teaching. In this case a good teacher gets low salary while his peer who is average at his teaching will get better salary.

Second, by accounting student's performance in Teachers salaries, there might be chances of disputes among teachers to teach to a particular class where students are not very bright. It could be daunting for teachers to teach to class where students are obtuse. They cannot concentrate on teaching knowing that their salaries are going to get affected because of bad performance of their students irrespective of their teaching.

Third, there are many factors that should be considered while evaluating a Teacher's performance. It includes his teaching experience, knowledge he has gained, how keen he is in putting himself further to grow and learn by engaging in research and developemnt activities. So, by providing salary hike or bonus based on these factors, it could be motivating for teachers to grow further. They will enagage more in gaining knowledge and improving. This will produce positive environment in school.

In summary, by making the student's performance as key factor in evaluating a Teacher's salary may introduce many adverse situations which are not conducive for the learning of a kid. Hence school should look into many other factors which have positive effect on school's environment while evaluating teacher's salary.