The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic stated is rather controversial. It is definitely essential to acknowledge positive actions as encouragement and positive feedback incite passion. However, focussing only on the positives and neglecting the negatives can prove detrimental. Anybody willing to learn should also be willing to accept criticism for their mistakes. Showering praise and bringing to light only the good things about a person might have the grievous consequence of making the person arrogant and over-confident to the extent where learning takes the back-seat and the person is more interested in proving himself than acquiring new knowledge.

Praising the positive aspects definitely has an obvious impact on the learners. For instance, a student will be greatly motivated to better his performance and score better grades if he receives praise and encouragement. People always need a mentor to give them positive feedback on how they are performing so that they have a sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. Without recognition for their achievements, people will gradually lose the interest and passion and learning will eventually come to a halt.

Learners, especially students are greatly affected by criticism. Criticism should refrain from being harsh as this might cause the learner to lose hope and interest. Even though negative criticism proves to be a great teacher, it is only so if done in moderation. Negative feedback and criticism, when considered in the right way would lead to betterment of the person. After all, failures are the stepping stones to success. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar, the legendary cricketer, was ridiculed by people when he fared poorly in matches. He however took the criticism in his stride and went on to create history.

Criticism would lead to the judgement of what is right and what is wrong and unacceptable. By being exposed to criticism, the learner is at a better position to learn what is not considered as a positive action and can thus abstain from undertaking such actions again. It is up to the learner to take the negative comments in a good way and not allow it to affect his learning but instead allow criticism to be a teacher.

It goes without saying that encouragement and praise go a long way in boosting up one’s morale and kindling interest in them to learn more and perform better. However, the fact that negative criticism creates in the person the urge to better oneself and prove one’s worth cannot be denied. In conclusion, it can be said that teaching should definitely comprise of praising the learner for the good aspects, but at the same time, it should also comprise of an appropriate amount of healthy criticism.