Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Although, many people believe that government should not provide financial assistence to scientific research whose possible outcomes are not certain, I believe that most of the scientific researches fall into this category. Therefore, such an uncertainity should not restrict us from discovering new things or inventing new things.

First, to illustrate the significance of scientific research, I would like to take space research as an example. This is one of the extremely challenging fileds for humans among rest of the research firms. Because, our universe is extremely huge and if you consider our universe as a whole our existence is almost insignificant. Irrespective of the fact that we do not have access to most of the universe, we have successfully landed on moon as well as mars. Before landing on moon, there was no guarantee that our mission would be successful. But, it was worth putting the effort. This applies to artificial satellite lauching as well. These satellites are used by vast applications like weather forecast, many mobile application etc. But probability of success of these missions is not hundred percent always. Money involved in implementing such project is huge and government support is indeed necessary.

In addition to this, research in the field of medicine is another good example. While medical filed is continually progressing in terms of research and development, there are still diseases for which there is no mdecine to cure. For instance, AIDS is one such example. There are still diseases for which true cause is unknown. There is no guarantee that we are going to immedietly succeed in finding answers to medical conundrums, but continuous effort might definetly help in achieving success. We will have to face multiple failures, but we can convert failures as pavement to our success.

Finally, I would like to say to say that money involved in major scientific research is huge and if the research do not succeeds, then it is great loss to our society. But we should also consider the fact that if such research becomes successful would it be worth the effort? If the answer to this question is yes, then we should definetly go for it.

In summary, I would like to say that outcome of most of the scientific researches are unknown at the beginning because there could be many internal and external factors which might affect the success of our research. But, it is always good to take risk and continue with our work. If we do not succeed at first attempt then we can learn from our mistakes. On the other hand, if we succeed then we can think of next big challenges.