TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

I agree with the statement that sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and Universities should provide equal financial support. The classes and libraries are importand for a student to aquire and expand his knowledge. On the other hand, sports and social awareness also play a significant role in personal growth and well being of a student.

First, universities should not restrict a student's learning to classroom or whatever is there in a book. A student can learn many things from social activities and it creates awareness among students. To illustrate this, when I was young, I was living close to a locality where people used to throw garbages everywhere. Due to this, there was an unpleasant odour spread all over the place. Also, there were mosquitoes and other harmful insects. Our school organized an event and funded a good amount of money to clean that locality. Most of the students actively participated and during that event I realized how humans are destroying our beautiful nature by throwing plastic and other harmful items. I stopped throwing waste items to random places after that. I also realized how difficulty it was for poor people living in that region. After that event, the locality looked much better and mosquitoes also reduced. We realized how important it is to keep our environment clean and we stopped throwing garbages after that event.

Second, activities like sports are essential for personal growth and development of students. Its essential for physical and mental health of a student. When I was in school, we had a sports carnival once in a year where many schools used to participate. Practice sessions before this carnival gave me a good break from hectic classes and I felt relaxed after practice sessions. My concentration during study hours greatly improved. I also became more confident and competative. Many of the students also participated in state level and national level games and won many prices which was a pride moment for our college as well as for nation.

In summary, I would like to say that there is so much to learn from sports and social activities. They contribute greatly to the personal growth a, well development of any student. Hence I believe these activities should recieve equal amount of funds.