Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Although some people believe that character of a society is best understood by inspecting the individual character of men and women that society considers as its role models, I believe that heros do not represent the character of entire society.

Many people are considered to be heros after their achievement inspite of strong opposition from society. For example Gandhi is called "Father of Nation" in India. He was the leader who guided India towards independence through non violence. Majority of society did not have faith in obtaining freedom through non violence movements. However, despite the strong opposition from majority of people Ghandhi continued to stick to his principles and believes. Now he is considered to be role model in our society though majority of people have conflicting openions.

Similarly, this is the case in scientific studies. When Galilio promulgamated that eart is not the center of universe and it rotates around the Sun, he was considered as an apostate. He also faced strong opposition from society. But, after his theory proven to be true he is wildly celebrated.

Movie actors are another example of set of people widely celebrated and followed by the society. Most of these actors are hailed for their acting in the movie not for their original character. They could be totally diffrent from what they are portreyed in the movies. So, based on the role models we cannot generalize the entire society.

Role models might represent majority of traits in the society but society is much more diverse and different from it's heroes. They are individual entities and we cannot understand the entire society just by analyzing their character.