In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although, some people believe that development is mainly bolstered by having similar openion among people, I believe that discssions having opposing views is equally essential. If you consider progress as a coin then critic and support are its two faces. Both are equally essential for progress. Therefor, one should not belittle opposing views.

First, to illustrate the importance of having opposing views I would like to take class room as a scenario. If students agree to everthing that professor teaches then classrooms would not be interactive and it limits the intellectual growth of students. Instead, if a students starts to question the experiment, formulae or any thing that teacher has taught, then teacher might take few more examples or facts to illustrate why an experiment outcome is certain or how a mathematical formula can be proved. Then student will have better understanding of subject and it is tend to remain in his memory for longer time.

In addition to this we can take some more examples to emphasize the significance of contrasting points of view. For instance, a company is starting a new project and it has made several teams and it has provided guidelines to implement it. Team consists of variety of people and there will be different openions among them. I such cases, tech lead or manager should give equal importance to both supporting and opposing views. Because, may be the current way of implementation is wrong or is not feasible and critics of this discussion might have better plans to carry out the project. When people have opposing views, more question will arise and one will start looking from broader perspective. Many facts will be taken into account while evaluating the success of a project.

Finally, if there is no one to object project or mission then it might become complete failure. For example, a space research organization is planning to launch a new satellite. Current implementation involves many flaws. But management believes everything is perfect and it is going to be a major success. Organization has put lot of money in this project and it is been working on it since several years. clearly, if no one dare to bring flaws of this mission to management's notice, then plan is going to be fiasco and not just waste of money but waste of all the efforts that been put from several years. Instead, if there is contrasting views in each stage of development then more care will be taken to consider which would be the best way of implementation.

In summary, I would like to say that it is always good to have contrasting views in any situation. If we are supporting a particular view, then we can think and act in a way to prove why opposing view is not valid. On the other hand, if we cannot prove our points, then we would have learnt a lesson which we can adopt in future.