Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that people of Plainsville lead healthy lives, this author's argument doesn'y make cogent case for success of opening new franchise by Nature's Way in town of Plainsvile. It is easy to understand that people who want to lead healthy life might engage in physical activities, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to prove the possibility of success of Nature's Way franchise in Plainsville.

First, There is no statistical data to prove that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are all-time high. Also, we do not have overall population details current year and previous years to say that Plainsville's local health club has more members that ever. Moreover, there is no guarantee that members of health club or people who excercise would buy health food and health related products. May be they eat junk all the time and they just want to compensate by doing little excercise or they want to be motivated towards leading healthy life, so they might have joined health club. We cannot simply assume that people who excercise or members of health club would buy health food or health related products.

Secondly, author of this argument overlooks the possibility of existing shops in plainsville that sell health food and health related products. If the city is already abundant with such shops, then competion will be more and it is very unlikely that Nature's Way franchise is going to be successful if there are couple of such famous shops in Plainsville. We cannot neglect this factor in evaluating success of opening new franchise.

Thirdly, it is easy to understand that Today's kids are Tomorrow's future, but we do not know what habbits they are goiung to adopt once they grow up. Most of the schools now a days create awareness in kids about benifits of healthy food habbits and healthy life styles by various programs. But there is no guarantee that kids will adopt those things in their real life. So this argument is not credible enough to predict the future life style of Today's kids.

Despite the argument that Nature's Way should open a new franchise in Plainsville, since, it's people engage in health clubs and in exercising activities may sound logical at the beginning, after considering above factors we need more data to prove the credibility of author's argument. Hence, it's not persuasive enough to say that Nature's Way is going to be successful by opening it's new franchise.