The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Author of this proposal to build new attractive dormitories to serve the housing needs of students definetly needs to consider many factors before coming into such conclusion. While argument sounds logical looking at the current trend, there may be hidden factors that affect the number of student enrollment to Buckingham College.

Firstly, author assumes that student enrollment is going to be same for next fifty years based on current trend. Data set for fifty years is too much to come to any conclusion based on current trends. Also, there are high chances for change in student pattern for the next fifty years. Author also undermines the possibility of burgening of new schools that affect the admission of students to Buckingham.

Secondly, Author's assumption that based on current trends, population will double over the next fifty years is vague. There is no statistcal data to prove that number of students enrollment has increased. Also, There are many factors that would contribute to student population. Number of babies born in the city might decrese abrubptly which will definetly decrease the student population in coming years. Hence, one cannot predict the future population based on current trends.

Thirdly, author author says that average rent of the apartment has risen in recent years. In order to evaluate this argument we need to know the rent of individual apartments. It could be possible that there are more number of lavish apartments in the city compared to number of economical partments that lead to increase in the price of overall rent. However, we cannot overlook the fact that economy apartments do exist despite the fact that average rent of apartments has increased. Also, there is no gurantee that apartment prices will going to increase for the next coming years.

Based on the implication that current trends would continue to sustain for next fifty years is fallacious and author of this argument undermines various factors that should have been considered while coming to such a conclusion. Hence, to say that Buckingham should construct new dormitories to accommodate new students based on current trends is parochial and many factors need to be considered to further evaluate this argument.