Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mass media and internet plays significant role in field of communication. They are responsible for spreading the news and making it accessible to every part of the world. To some extent it has caused the people's attention spans to get shorter. But, overall effect is not always positive.

First, with growing economy and rapid development in technology has made the internet accessible to almost everyone. People are able to know what is happening around the world in few seconds. Media people always try to emphasize the news that might attract large number of audience. Sometimes they even tweak the truth to get larger audience.

To illustrate, there are few news channels which concentrate on airing the news of famous people, events rather than showing the dark sides of country. Another example could be death of a poor farmer followed by Cricket World Cup tournament. In such instances media almost fail to through light on bad things happening to poor people of a nation.

In addition to this, news contained in internet is not always genuine. Sometimes, this will cause some adverse effects which is beyond one's imagination. Kavery water dispute between the state's of Karnataka and Tamilnadu are the best example for this. Few people record some video and put it in internet with wrong caption. For example, people are beating up a robber after he is been caught in robbery. few people record this and put it in internet by putting the caption as racist people beating up innocent citizen. This will definitely foment the peace among people in community and might lead to public disputes.

However, there are also positive aspects of media and internet. Advent of media and technology has made the news accessible to almost everyone. People are more aware of what is happening around them. Those who are interested in music can only pay attention to what is going on in field of music. This applies to other fields like politics, business, sports etc. People now a days are able to focus on things that matter to them.

In summary, mass media and internet have caused the people's attention span to get shorter to some extent. But, result is not always positive. Media and people feeding internet should be careful before spreading any news.