The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that opening a cafe in Monarch Book store might attract more customers, this author's argument doesn't consider dark sides of opening cafe for book lovers. Also argument is vague and rife with holes and assumptions.

First, author doensn't consider the fact that opening cafe might have negative impact on it's existing readers. Many readers prefer reading in a calm and peaceful environment. So opening cafe might not provide conducive environment for existing readers. While it may be true that a cafe might attract more customers, we can't ignore it's negetive impacts on existing readers.

Secondly, discounting the childern's book section to make room for cafe based on the data collected from national sensus which tells that there has been a significant reduction in percentage of population under age ten is vague and it needs more evidence to evaluate this argument. National sensus data is an agglomeration of data from various states. It could be possible that number of kids under the age of ten is very less in rest of the states while area around Monarch Books may continue to have same or increased number of kids. This scenario may lead to reduction in overall percentage of kids population. Therefore national sensus data is not credible enough to evaluate this argument.

Thirdly, author assumes that opening a cafe might help to better compete with Regal Books. Author has not mentioned anything related to success of opening cafe at Regal Books. We are not given any information that tells that Regal Books has garnered more customers after opening cafe. Also we don't have data to compare the number of customer's at Regal Books before and after opening cafe. So we can't simply assume that cafe at Regal Books is success and opening the same at Monarch Books might help in gaining more customer and to better compete with Regal Books.

Opening a cafe might attract more customers but author's argument is too parochial and further evidences are needed to evaluate this argument.