"The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:

It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you."

Describe how well the reasoning is in this. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counter examples might weaken the arguments's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound and would help you to better evaluate its conclusion.

200 apartment renters protested to bring elimination of rent control. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city, deriving that 19,800 stayed home and choose not to protest. Nevertheless, assuming that the group which did not protest better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city is fallacious. The given argument is rife with loopholes and assumptions.

Firstly, we can't assume the group which didn't protested doesn't believe in elimination of rent control regulation. Maybe they wanted to protest but couldn't come out of home as it was raining. Maybe they were busy on that following day and that's why didn't come out of home to protest. It can be possible only those 200 renters had idea regarding the protest. Until, we can't validate the reasons for not protesting, we can't assume the group was against the protest.

Moreover, this protest can galvanize the movement. After seeing 200 renters coming out to protest in rain, maybe more renters will be encouraged to support this protest. The first protest can act as a catalyst to the movement. Seeing their relatives or neighbours supporting the protest, this act can play a domino effect. Next protest can see a significant increase in renters protesting against elimination of rent control regulation. If the argument provided any evidence to show that no new protest will happen, then it would be more cogent to assume those 19,800 renters didn't have any problem in elimination of rent control regulation.

Also, there are few more assumptions which need to be addressed. The group that did not protest is larger but we can't assume it better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city is totally illogical. Even though, only 200 renters protested against the elimination of rent control regulation, these 200 renters protest should not be ignored. A politician has a duty to solve problem of it's people. These 200 renters may have a very hard time living in a rented enclave if rents for home increase exponentially. They may be forced to leave their rented house and start living in a cheaper house.

Even though, only 200 apartment renters protested and 19,800 renters sat at home, but we can't assume those 19,800 were in support of elimination of rent control regulation. We can't assume the larger group better represents the opinions of renters in the city.