Seniority (years of service) should not be the basis of employee compensation. Employees should be promoted and given raises solely on the basis of their work performance and merit. That is a better way to encourage high productivity.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

A company should give it's employees compensation on the basis of their work performance and merit rather than on the basis of number of years served. It's assumed it is a better way to encourage higher productivity.

Definitely, this is good for a company and even economic health of a country. A company giving compensation solely on the basis of their work performance will make employees work harder for the company. A higher productive employees will increase the profits for the company. It has other benefits as this will make most of employees hard working. A hard working nation progress faster towards economic dominance. Overall the economic condition of country would be good and it will be less prone to economic turmoil. The country of japan became a developed nation after it's citizen worked hard for many years. Most of japanese citizens are workaholic, they love to work hard at their nation. And Japan progressed without having any significant natural resource. They progressed just on it's human resource.

Additionally, as employees will be given credit on the basis of merit, many employees would love to have a higher education in their resume. A more educated candidate will have higher chance of performing better in the company as he can apply his expert knowledge gained during higher education. A more educated nation is also a good sign for overall growth of a nation. A country with higher number of educated people progress faster towards becoming superpower. The country of Singapore invested their initial funds for improvement of education system in their country. They didn't invested first in improving country infrastructure. And within few decades, the country transformed from one of the backward states to developed nation.

But there are some complication with the given recommendation. Many employees may work hard in initial years but may not be able to work hard at latter stage. People tend to loose vitality as they become old. This will be unfair to these employees as they deserve to have higher compensation. They should be paid higher because they have spent many years in the service for the company. New recruits will be getting higher compensation than old loyal employees.

Providing higher compensation on the basis of work performance and merit have few advantages like promoting hard work and education. But there are few negatives which should not be overlooked.