The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:

It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you.

The above arguements is full of inconsistencies and loop holes. Although, a cursory analysis might suggest that the arguement is cogent, there are many underlying assumptions whose authenticity seems dubious.

First of all, it is mentioned that 200 apartment renters protested in rain. Now, the fact that it was raining, might be the biggest reason why only 200 of them came to protest. Protesting in a rainy condition is not an easy task. It might have been possible that many more renters wanted to protest but because of rain they were not able to.

Secondly, it is also stated that, 19,800 renters, stayed at home and did not wanted to protest. But, this might not be the actual case. Being absent during the protest is not sufficient to assume that the renters, did not have any concerns regarding the rent control regulation. There are several reasons which can account for not showing up, instead of having a problem with the rent control regulation.

It could have been the case that, the renters who stayed at home thought that doing a protest might not be the best way to oppose the rent control regulation. There might be some other alternatives, such as, doing it via the official way i.e. going to court. Or they could have thought that doing a protest might not be fruitful and so it was better to stay at home. Also, it is not mentioned that the information regarding the protest was known to all the renters. If this wasn't the case then it was bound to happen that only some of the protesters, who had the information, would turn up.

It is also not straight forward to assume that as the group that did not protest was larger, they better represent the opinion of the renters throughout the city. The majority of the opinion could be against the rental control regulation. It was just that due above mentioned reasons they were not able to attend the protest. Even though, the protest was small, is not reason to not to get discouraged. At least, the politician should take steps that could placate the protesters. As only then, the politician will have the support of the renters.

Hence, due to above mentioned reasons, it is evident that the arguement lacks various assumption which would have bolstered the arguement. But at present the arguement lacks cogency.