An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The statement rests on many assumptions which if had been stated clearly might have aided to the cogency of the statement.

The foremost flaw that comes is the credibility of this international development organization. It states that the new bread of millet is high in vitamin A but gives no proof regarding it's authenticity. It might be possible that this organisation, just for the sake of incurring a high profit might have falsely labeled the millet as vitamin A rich. Where in fact the millet might be the same as the normal ones.

Also the assumption that farmers of Tagus grow millet is unsupported. There's no mention of this fact, it might be possible that the millet that people of Tagus take in their diet have been imported from a different place. As the climate of Tagus may be not be favorable for growing the new breed of millet or the breed of millet in the first case.

The argument also rests on the fact that people of Tagus will readily adopt the new breed of millet. Which might not be true, the demographics of Tagus as compared to the place where this organisation tested the millet might not have anything common in them. Resulting into an unfavorable response of the people of Tagus towards this new bread of millet.

Keeping the onus of promotion of the new bread millet on the government might not be completely justified. There might be better alternatives that the government could undertake to combat the vitamin A deficiency. Supplying people with vitamin A medications or some other enriched source of vitamin A which might not be as costly as the new bread millet. This will result in the saving of government revenue as they won't have the burden of giving the subsidies. And that saved amount could be utilized for spreading the awareness about the ongoing deficiency so that people themselves can start acting.

If all the above assumptions are recompiled into the argument, it will aid to its defense. Making the argument sound and with less number of flaws.