The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

In the above article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist, it is stated that the observation made by Dr. Field about the children in Tertia informing that they are reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents stands invalid. Based on this the Dr. Karp concludes that interview-centered method that is currently being used in Tertia is a much more accurate in understanding of child-rearing traditions than observation-centered approach. However before evaluting this conlcusion three questions needed to be answered.

Firstly, what if the children are talking about their biological parents more in the interview because they are told to do so? One can always manipulate children as they are guileless and hence produce the intended results. For example they might be talking about their biological parents just as an obligation or maybe some instruction was given to them or perhaps they might be even saying it as the interviewer may have told them so solely to invalidate the observation-centered approach and as a result the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, what if the values they inherit are contradictory to their biological parents and more in accord with the other people of the village? This can be possible since the cultural aspect was not accounted for in the interview. For instance, they might be talking about their biological parents but the things they do, the food they eat and the culture they follow might be solely be influenced by other people of the village and because of this the arguments stands invalid.

Finally, does interviewing them give an accurate account as to what is happening in reality? It is possible they might be simply saying made-up things in the interview or whatever they are being told. For example as an analogy a famous actress going through depression would never admit it in an interview but if we observe her actions one can determine the disease she is suffering from. In this case also the same might be happening and so observation-based approach might be better suited to capture reality.

In conclusion, the argument that is stated is considerably flawed due to the following unwarranted assumptions and if the author can provide answers to the following three questions with sufficient evidence to back them up then it might be possible to evaluate validity of the proposed method.