To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

In today's world there are hardly any people who maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. It basically means that everyone is susceptible to venality and threats. The ethics and morals a person shows very much depends on the environment one was raised in and also by the outside influence one for instance the company he maintains. The prompt states that in order to be an efficacious leader, a public official has to have the highest ethical and moral standards. I mostly disagree with the statement for the following three reasons, however I do concede that this is a very difficult situation to evaluate.

Firstly, being moral and ethical may not produce the most effective results all the time, one must keep in mind to deceive in order to reach the final goal at a faster pace. For instance any Public official who wants to ensure he wins by a considerable margin in the next elections must ensure that the fellow people who are taking part in the campaigns knows that he is in a precarious position as proposed by him so they will put more effort in campaigns to secure more votes than needed even though such scenario is not true and he already has considerable support.

Secondly, a man with morals can easily be taken advantage of by the enemy as they know they won't be involved in anything illicit. One must fight "Evil with Evil". If someone uses a gun to fight even though only knives are allowed you should answer with guns otherwise you'll be played by the enemy, you should always be prepared and not be too naive.

Lastly, for a public official such as a politician mainting high standards throughout the eye of the public is very difficult and one must remember that the final result is of most importance and not the journey in this specific case basically implying that ethics and morals are subjective. For example Hilter was a man of high ethic and morals however he used some stringent technique to get rid of Jews which is not reasonable but looking at his point of view he did not compromise on this ethics and morals and turned out to be one of the most influencial leader of his times though being hated by many.

Finally the above statement is very complex and there are no easy anwers as sometimes it is morality and ethics which wins the heart of the general public rather than trickery and at other times it is how you present yourselves to the public, be it morally or immorally what mainly matters is the support of the poeple.