The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The appeared recommendation by the commitee concludes that by reducing the funds budgeted for education during the next decade and at the same time reducing funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities will help in saving money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, based on the fact that birthrate in the city is declining. However three questions are needed to be answered as follows.

Firstly, birthrate might be decreasing but population of students and atheles might be increasing ? The argument assumes the fact that since birthrate is declining, hence population of students and atheles might also be declining. What if the population of students and athelets might actually be increasing? In that case cutting off funds for education and atheletic facilities will impede the career of these people and hence as as a result the conclusion is not justifiable.

Secondly, how much fund is going into schools and atheletic grounds since already birthrate is half of what it was five years ago? Since the argument states that currently the birthrate is already very low comparatively, there might not be enough funds allocated to education, athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. So even if we reduce their budgets there won't be any significant savings to sponsor city facilities and programs used primarily by adults and hence the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, It is stated ten year budget, but what happens if the birthrate again increases during this time? The plan's duration is not taking into account the probable increase of birthrate. For instance supposedly in the year 2005 the birthrate is thirty and then in 2015 it becomes thirty five or even forty causing problems in the education system as well as atheletics practices and other facilities. The probable increase might require more budget allocation to schools and fields than being alloted and thus this weakens the argument.

In conclusion it can be stated that the argument stated above is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author answers the above three questions and provides sufficient evidence to back them up, then it might be possible to evluate the validity of the proposed budget planning.