Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

A hero is someone you admire and look upto and is not someone who is infallable. The definition of hero is not of a perfect person but of an perfect example. A true symbol of altruism is one of the traits exhibited by a hero. I mostly agree with the claim for the stated reason, however I do concede that this is not true at all times and sometimes media can favor the odds.

The society we live in is very reluctant in the first place to regard someone as a hero because the world is too competitve and no one wants to treat the other one as a hero they rather want to become one. Inspite of all this even if someone is given the title of a hero, the media swoops in to take the place of the enemy. The media tries to potrait all the negative characterictics and sometimes even rumor some to the public in order to disrupt the only good reputation of the hero. The only reason is to make profit out of it and seek attention from the crowd. For example many Indians believed that Baba Ram Dev was a true disciple of god and they listened and followed his advices.They treated him like a hero until media took to the public that he raped a teenager. The accusations by the media took a toll on his reputation and his followers began to decline and he was no longer considered a hero. The remarks made by the media have not proven to be true but still they hampered the reputation by creating an impact on people's mind.

In most of the cases media tends to foment in order to increase their TRP and be lucrative. They sometimes create stories to destroy the well earned reputation of a hero and sometimes they find evidence. In other cases for instance when Sushant Singh (a bollywood actor) commited suicide, the media potrayed him as a hero blaming all the people from the industry that influnced him into taking such an action. The media event went on to dictate how intelligent and generous person he has and that everyone should respect him. In this case the media made him the hero.

The media played two different roles here and is mostly associated with diminishing one's image. The true nature of media targets those who are in power or popular to gain the necessary attention from the public they need as a result a hero is targeted and the result can end in a wane or wax of his image.