The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article talks about Dr. Karp rejecting Dr. Field's observations about the child-rearing traditions on the island of Tertia from 20 years ago. Dr. Karp also suggests that his interviews with the children on that island were the polar opposite of that of Dr. Field. Dr. Karp's team is alsoworking on getting more reliable and clearer conclusions about this topic. However, the author has used ambiguious language which calls to question upon a few of the things mentioned in the article and a few that haven't been stated.

Firstly, the author invalidates Dr. Field's observations that were done 20 years ago based on Dr. Karp's recent interactions with these children. A lot can change in 20 years, maybe the former observations were true during that time period and not valid currently, but cancelling out the entire conclusion from before is just wrong. The author could give more insights on this, like facts or some other supporting points to make his stance clearer.

Secondly, Dr. Karp assumes that observation-centered approaches are invalid just on the basis of one such case. Maybe they are actually valid in most of the cases where interviews of this sort cannot be conducted. Maybe they are the best possible tool in some cultures. Maybe the way Dr. Field carried out his observations are not right but if done correctly, the results could be astonishing. If the author could get some evidence and also consider these few points, his argument would strengthen.

Lastly, the author assumes that his team of graduate students are better educated and experienced than Dr. Field and that they are carrying out the interviews well. Maybe they are only asking questions related to the chidlrens' parents or are only focusing on the parts of the answers which involve things about their parents. If Dr. Karp could give more clarity on these things, he/she would be able to make his/her point more clearly.

In conclusion, I feel that Dr. Karp can better his article by giving more clarity on the aforementioned points. These will help strengthen his point and imporve the overall conclusion of the reasearch better for everyone.