“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Many countries allow a variety of curriculums to be taught in their schools. For example, India has curriculums such as SSC, ICSE, CBSE, IGCSE, IB and many more. Many of these boards are of Indian-origin but a few are foreign ones too. The students and parents are given a choice of which ones they want to opt for. However, the prompt here contradicts this case where it suggests that choices should not be given to the students and they should be made to undergo a fixed "national curriculum". I mostly agree with the prompt although I do concede that students with a different level of Intelligence Quotient may not fit in well in such a system.

To begin with, the same curriculum will let all students be at par with each other, in terms of knowledge gained through the classes as well as financial spending on education along with the level of opportunities available after they complete their schooling. For example, one of the curriculums in Germany has schooling only until Grade 8 after which the students are required to shift to another school with a different course structure while the students already enrolled in the new school from their Grade 1 do not need this shift of curriculum. This makes the process for the students shifting to the new school difficult to cope up with the new system. In terms of the school fees, it depends on the school curriculum. So a some schools may charge only 2500 INR per year, whereas others with a different system may ask for almost 250000 INR per year. Hence, I feel following the same course sturcture will help equalise these differences.

Secondly, this change will let students study the important languages of the country which the international curriculums in the country may not be able to accomodate. For example, in Germany, German is the primary language. If the school agrees to follow a curriculum of the US, where the main langauge of instruction is English, it may lead to a problem as the German language may not be taught well. In the same way, India's national language is Hindi, but the international courses have their prime langauge as English, which eventually led India to have a vast majority of their population speak and understand English extremely fluently whereas they arent as fluent in their own native language, Hindi. Therefore, I believe that having such a currciculum will take into account these problems and can be customised.

However, not all students are the same. Some students have a lower IQ and some have a higher IQ than the normal average students. It may be unfair to them for their skill and knowledge development. For example, many students take time to understand concepts, hence an application based curriculum will suit them well where they can understand the use of the concept with pre- built examples rather than the theory itself. In contrast, students with higher IQ grasp things fast and will prefer to implement those things rather than just rote learning it.

In conclusion, the prompt discusses a very complex suggestion and does not have one definitive answer. Hence, I feel that although average students may be well- suited to such a curriculum, but students will varying IQs may be at a disadvantage.