Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, there is a plethora of courses and programmes available for students to study. This prompt gives a suggestion on how the programmes could be improved and a reason supporting it. I mostly agree with the claim for the given reason along with an additional reason but I do concede that it may not practically be possible to design the courses taking into account everyone’s interests and suggestions.

To begin with, I agree with the given reason as it completely supports the claim. Students will definitely like it because it is something of their interest. For example, when students give their suggestions to the educators, the educators know what exactly the students are expecting out of the course so they design it in such a way that the students’ inputs are taken into account. Additionally, it will improve the grades of the students because now they are not just rote learning things, but paying more attention during the classes and understanding the concepts better. For example, a child is more likely to watch a show they like with complete attention rather than one they are being forcefully made to watch. Hence, I feel that the given reason makes sense and is valid.

Secondly, when courses are designed as per the students, they feel their voices are heard and they are being taught what exactly they want, so they eventually develop respect for the subject and the course and study well. They may also feel that they are obligated to pay attention irrespective of how good or bad the course may have turned out to be because it is what they asked for. To give an example, I buy a T-shirt from the internet after convincing my parents to let me purchase it, but it turns out the T-shirt isn’t of good quality and I cannot return it. In such a case, I am obligated to use the T-shirt even if I don’t like it because my parents gave me permission to buy it and also because I asked for it in the first place. In the same way, the students will study those courses because they wanted those courses.

However, I feel that the number of students in a programme may be way too high and it may not be practically possible to design the courses taking into account everyone’s interests and suggestions. For instance, my class had 60 students, each having a different career goal- Robotics, Automation expert, Data Analyst, etc.. Even in the field of Robotics, there are many subdomains and catering to everyone’s needs will not be possible as it may mess up the entire course curriculum. For this reason, the claim is not very practical.

In conclusion, the claim discusses a very complex suggestion and there are no easy answers to it. However, I feel that it may be possible to have customised courses for small classes but not for very large classes, although the motivation factor will still remain.