The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures".

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the article written by Dr. Karp, he concluded that the observation-centered approach to studying the Tertian village culture is unacceptable which he proved by introducing another method, the interview-centered approach claiming this gives a much more accurate understanding of their child-rearing traditions. Dr. Karp, an anthropologist has come to this conclusion based on the fact that when Dr. Field, who was also an anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia twenty years ago, concluded from his observation that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Consequently, Dr. Karp's team of graduate students engaged in recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia and the results show that these children talked more about their biological parents than about any other adults in the village. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, some specific pieces of evidences must be collected and analyzed.

First of all, in other to determine whether the children in Tertia were reared by the entire village or their own biological parents we have to evaluate the method or approach used to garner the information. While it may be possible that twenty years ago, the observation-centered approach of knowing if the children in Tertia were reared by an entire village instead of their own parents can be valid. In the case of Dr. Karp, his interview-method of knowing about the Tertia's culture is recent. A number of things could have evolved between twenty years ago and now. It may be possible that the entire village rear the children then, while in recent times the biological parents of these children begin to take up the responsibilities of rearing their own children. So, that could be the case of the children now talking more about their biological parents than about other adults in the village.

Secondly, it is important to determine whether twenty years ago, it was a law in the island of Tertia for the children to be reared by the entire village instead of their biological parents. Dr. Karp just assumed that just by only interviewing the children he could come to a conclusion that Dr. Field approach was wrong. The other adults could have been interviewed also in other to gather a complete and detailed information of what happened twenty years ago. Perhaps, the other adults could talk more about the previous customs of the Tertia village, peradventure if there was any change in the mode of rearing children twenty years ago from now.

Moreso, Dr. Karp's interview method is truly an efficient way of gathering useful information about the research and in also enhancing the understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures but it has to be a survey that will cover specific persons which also includes the biological parents of these children. They should also be able to give more explanation on who rears their children. So, information only from the interview of those children does not hold water.

In conclusion, the arguments as it stands now is considerably flawed due to lack of thorough research done by both parties- Dr. Field and Dr. Karp. If Dr. Karp's team of graduate students can be able to provide the pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic research study then is it possible to determine who rears the children of Tertia twenty years ago and recently.