A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The quality of education in any nation lies on the government of that country most especially the Minister of Education and his staff. Every nation desire to have students with strong educational background, thus the need for the nation to oversee the national curriculum of her students before their entrance into college.

I agree with the prompt that a nation should require that all its students study the same national curriculum till they enter college, because the students will be exposed to the same background of knowledge and there will be no excuse to face the higher standard of college. It also avail them the opportunity to compete favourably with one another anywhere they find themselves in the nation. For example, if the Federal Government or a private organisation is to organise a competition between schools from various states of the nation since it is the same curriculum they utilise, it is easy to set questions that won't be strange but familiar since it's single curriculum.

Furthermore, these students in high schools and primary schools are still young to make a decision on which subjects to do. Due to their naviety, they need the guidance of a higher body to make the decision for the subjects they should offer in school, so that they won't do what is above their learning capacity or what is below standard. Students of this age needs to be monitored in their choice of subjects in order for them to be well nutured for higher learning (college).

Also it is important for entrance exams into college to be pulled from one source (i.e. the national curriculum) to ensure focus and success for the students and excellent coordination for the education of that country.

However, if the students are given the opportunity to choose some subjects, it will allow for the generation of creativity in them. Therefore, at times the government shouldn't be rigid with curriculum in order to allow for flexibility, innovation and creativity.

In conclusion, the nation should require her students to use the same national curriculum, at the same time, allowance should be made for flexibility of subjects, peradventure the students need to take a subject of interest.