Claim: The big test of an argument is the ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of the idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that the viability of an argument is based on its ability to convince someone with a contrasting idea is subjective. But, I agree with the prompt that to discover the value of an argument, is to determine how well it's able to sway people to buy into its ideas.

For someone to be able to defend an argument effectively and convince people to follow that idea, it shows that the person must have a vast knowledge of that area and he is able to pass the intricacies of the benefits of the idea to them. For example, the shape of the earth has been argued back and forth by scientists, they we able to propose a lot of hypothesis about if it was flat-shaped or oval-shaped; till they were able to discover through intense research that the earth is spherical. In order for the body of science to accept that the earth is spherical, the scientists have their proofs, evidences and their enthusiasm in communicating their new found idea, and that got the theory of the spherical shape of the earth to be accepted.

Also, weighing the value of an idea one must be able to defend it against all opposing views for it to be accepted. For instance, in a political memorandum, the opposing team tries to convince the audience that their ideas are best fit to rule the people. E.g. Trump's defense of himself being best fit as the next president will be valuable if he is able to communicate to Americans how he would serve them better in his next regime, e.g. by making employment rates about 1% and by bringing a cure to the pandemic etc.

However, there are times that the value of an idea though convincing, could be destructive in the long run. E.g. the fight for the legalisation of abortion. The activists maybe able to convince people on the viability of their argument, but we know in the long run there will be more death rate.

In conclusion, the ability to convince someone of an argument to a large extent shows it is valuable, but at times an argument being convincing maybe not be so apt in the long run.