To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study it's major cities.

"Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position".

The societies in different nations have various ways by which they can be studied and understood. Societies differ from country to country, from tribe to tribe and from race to race. The various ways to study and understand the different societies include conducting a survey on their culture; the way of life of the people, on their economic status, on their educational systems, on their social interaction with their neighboring countries and on their major cities.

Therefore, I'd agree that to gain adequate knowledge of the pros and cons of a society one needs to study it's major cities. This is because the major cities is mostly where the seat of power; i.e where the governmental power will be. So, with the presence of power in a city, other characteristics that makes up a better society must be in place such as education, security, basic health care, commerce, industry, transportation, etc. For example, to understand the characteristics of the American society, study the New York City, studying the major city in the United States of America, we will be able to see so many attributes that will define who an American is. One is the value placed on Academic and research, the funds used to keep their educational system running is gigantic and that has a positive effect on the economic status, as we have a lot of the Americans that have a high standard of living and are living comfortably compared to study the major cities in Nigeria for instance Lagos, if we scrutinise how the government fund the educational system to encourage research is so derogatory. And that has in turn has effect on the economic well being of the citizens with high turn out of graduates coupled a spike in unemployment rate in the nation. This has further led to a surge in the level of crime rate. As we also have people in the seat of power looting government funds, thereby to a low standard of living for the Nigeria citizen.

Nevertheless, by merely observing the major cities of a society won't give a well detailed explanation of the characteristics of that society. So, employing other means of garnering information can be implored such as conducting interviews with the citizens of that society, merging and comparing it with the valuable information collected from the observation will make a good study of that society.

In conclusion, to understand the most important characteristics can truly be done by the study of it's major cities, but the addition of other methods we enhance an effective study of such society.