The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you either agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not be true and explain how this considerations shape your position.

Any political leader at one time or the other has been faced with a number of challenges. The extent to which a political leader will be great has to do with a number of factors such as diplomacy, diligence, discipline, ability to manage and overcome challenges, excellent communication skill etc.

But of all the numerous abilities he possesses, the challenges faced by that political leader has the greatest power in landing him in greatness. Challenges help men to dig deep into their inherent skills and abilities and strive to overcome it. It spurs them to do the impossible. It triggers them to utilize faith in order for them to launch into the realm of impossibilities. It is the driving force and a tool used to unveil our innate skills. For example, the Father of Electricity, Michael Faraday encountered numerous challenges on his quest to invent electricity. He failed about ninety-nine times before he was able to make it at the one thousand time. If he were never faced with that challenge he wouldn't have know about ninety-nine possible ways to getting electricity done. It was in those challenges that he was able to discover how to make it better, and he discovered a way out.

Moreover, challenges create in us a thirst for knowledge on how to solve a particular problem. It helps us to use our innate abilities, thus without challenges nothing will help spur our inherent abilities to reality. So, it is the mother of invention. By seeking knowledge, e.g. through reading, researching; our innate abilities are sharpen to see solutions to problems in a better light and understanding.

Although the inherent abilities of a great leader are one of those imperative qualities that earns him his greatness. It can't be neglected for greatness to be holistic.

In conclusion, what makes a political leader great is the challenges that he is faced with and the manner in his he responded to it. His positive response to it makes him great. Also using his inherent abilities alongside to breakthrough.