The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical to agree with the argument in the passage that children in Tertia are raised by their biological parents rather than the whole society and additionally, the interview-based approach is superior to the observation-based approach. Nevertheless, in order to fully evaluate the conclusion, we need a considerable amount of evidence.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate Dr. Karp’s argument is information about whether or not Tertia has changed significantly in the past twenty years. As Field admits in the article, his experiment was conducted twenty years ago. It is highly probable that there were some great climate or social changes in the Tertia island which could alter the child-rearing practice. For instance, the social structure might have been changed by great revolutions, resulting in a more civilized government which required all children be raised by their own parents. Additionally, the birth rate may have lowered in the past twenty years, which might render child-rearing affordable for each family. In this case, Both Karp’s and Field’s argument could be correct because each is about a different period of time.

To determine whose claim is more convincing, we also need more information about the each experiment’s design. Dr. Karp mentions in the article that his experiment was conducted on many islands including Tertia. However, he does not explain what proportion of the data was collected on Tertia alone. More specifically, out of thousands of interviews, perhaps only two or three were conducted on Tertia. What is more, though children in Tertia talks about their parents only “a little”, children in other islands where they are raised by their biological parents may talk much more since the geological proximity cannot guarantee the culture similarity, thus making the result deceiving. Additionally, the interview conducted by Dr. Karp seems to only concern about who they talk about, but not what they are talking, which is confusing as well, since children might just talk to the researchers how they are rejected by their parents. In both scenario, we need more information about each experiment’s design before we can decide whose argument is more convincing.

Last but not least, the author also implicates that the interview-centered approach is more convincing the observational-centered approach. It is thornier to handle this grandiose claim. To begin with, Dr. Karp need the evidence mentioned above to fully convince his own argument first to prove that his interview-centered is effective. Granted that the interview-centered approach in the study of rearing tradition in Tertia island is more effective, a single success cannot validate the whole approach, thus a larger amount of experiments are required to fully evaluate the methodology itself, ideally thousands of anthropological experiments in each approach.

Clearly, in order to better understanding the strength and the weakness of Dr. Karp’s argument, it is necessary to know more about Tertia island’s development over the past twenty years, the specific interview design. Moreover, to extend the single case to fully evaluate the superiority of an approach in anthropology study, considerable amount of study analysis is needed.