The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is flawed for a number of reasons. It makes a number of crass assumptions which would make it seem like it depends heavily on flimsy logic. To mention a few, Dr. Field's observations are from 20 years ago and Tertia may have gone through plenty of changes in this span of 20 years. Also, it assumes that Dr. Karp's interview centric approach has been conducted with perfection and this, in a sense, genralizes that supreme of interview centered approaches over the observation centered approaches which is inherently flawed.

First, two decades is a long span of time during which the village may have undergone abundant changes in terms of its populace and culture. People may have moved into Tertia from various places and this might have increased the diversity of the village. This goes to show that the population may have gone a significant change, due to which there may have been a radical change in the way that children are reared. We are also unbeknownst to the issue of granularity; there is no proof provided that the experiments conducted both considered the same kind of people from the same locality of the village. The village might have inhabitants from different cultures living in different parts. Had the argument stated that the granularity of both the experiments is the same and that the populace considered is the same in both the cases, it would have added lot more sense of genuineness to it.

Furthermore, the argument assumes that children "talking about their biological parents" goes to show that they were reared by thier biological parents. This is very flimly logic which assumes that talking about their biological parents would also mean that the children were actually taken care of by them, which of course is not the case unless a formal proof for the same is provided. For strengthening the argument, Dr. Karp should provide warranted evidence that the aforementioned assumption is valid in all cases.

Finally, there is no evidence that the experiments conducted by Dr. Karp's team were conducted on the same kind of people as in the case of Dr. Field. We do not know if Dr. Field used graduate students or certified experts to perform the observations. Even if we were to assume that both the experiments were conducted by the same kind of people, it would be unwarranted for us to generalize that the Interview-Centric approach is better than the Observation-Centric approach. This generalization might depend on a variety of factors and it may be variegated as per the environment or the topic of research. For us to believe in such a claim, there should be robust proof that the interview centric approach has superseded the observation centric approach in a variety of environments spanning varied topics. Also, the argument must state whether the leve of expetise of the people conducting the experiments was similar.

Thus, the argument is flawed for various reasons which must be accounted for in order for us to believe that Dr. Karp's viewpoint is completely valid in all cases. Of course, the assumptions may be valid in all actuality, however, until there is evidence of the same, the argument fails to make its case with cogency and strength. If the given issues are addressed in the future and the argument still holds, we may believe Dr. Karp's viewpoints.