The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article argues that the interview centered method that his graduate students are are currently using will establish more accurate understanding about the children-rearing traditions in Tertia and other islands. Authors argument is flawed as it lacks a lot of necessary evidence needed to come to any solid conclusion. Author has used old research as basis for his conclusions from recent studies, ambiguous sample space for research has been used to come to a sweeping conclusion.

To begin with, the author first cites a twenty years old reasearch which used observation-centered method and claims that the results obtained by him by using interview-centered method are contradictory to the results of previous research and thus concludes that any research done by observation-centered method is invalid. But it is quite clear that comparing current research results to a twenty years old research results is inappropriate, especially in those fields of study where subjects of research are constantly changing. It may have happened that during past twenty years the trend of child-rearing has changed in the island, shifted from being village-centred to parent-centered . To come to any solid conclusion the author needs to provide information about recent research done on the child-rearing traditions of Tertia island that has used the observation-centered method. Also even if author wants to use old research as his basis he should provide evidence that no substantial source has influenced the mind-set of the people of the island which has possibly forced them to change their tradition during past twenty years.

Also, in his research author has interviewed children from many islands and not just those from Tertia island alone. On the contrary, the previous research done by Dr. Karp was solely based upon traditions of Tertia island. Hence, it is inappropriate to come to a solid conclusion about Tertia island if the number of children from Tertia island are less among all the children interviewed. Hence author should justify by providing some statistics that the number of tertia children interviewed really are representative of their population among all other students.

Hence, in conclusion author needs to carry out research using both the observation-centered method and interview centered method himself and then finally come to a conclusion as to which method provides much accurate understanding. But, currently, authors argument is flawed and not persuasive.