The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games.It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Due to a recent survey showing that Whirlwind’s sales is reversing, the author assumes that Whirlwind’s sales will increase dramatically in the future, since their computers has updated. However, lacking evidence and not ruling out some possible factors make the assumption unwarranted.

To begin with, the author relies on a recent survey of video-game players to assume that their sales trend is reversing. However, this survey does mention the exactly number of people attending the survey and place. Specifically, since this survey might be conducted at place near Whirlwind company, and subjects might be their regular customers, this survey show a higher sales trend. As a result, this survey cannot represent the real situation, because it is an unfair survey.

In addition to survey, the editor’s recommendation depends on the assumption that no factors other than up-to-date computers will cause the increasing sales. However, a myriad of other factors, including players who have no money and who have no much time, might be the cause of stopping growing sales. To be specific, even though Video game players like such up-to-date computers, they could not play these games regularly; As a result, Whirlwind’s sales could not increase dramatically. Without ruling out these and other possible causes, the editor cannot justifiably conclude that only by state-of-art computers can increasing sales of video games.

Even if the play will go Whirlwind to play such state-of-art computers, the author’s conclusion that the sales of Whirlwind will increasing in the future is unwarranted. Profit is a factor relating to not only revenue, but also cost. It’s entirely that the cost of hardware and software or other cost associated with computer maintenance will offset, even outweigh the revenue. Besides, a lot of other unexpected occurrence, such as unfavorable economic depression, might prevent Whirlwind from being as profitable as the argument predicts.

To sum up, since the author lack a cogent evidence, and ruling out some possible factors, the author’s assumption is fallacious. The author must offer an evidence showing where they survey at, and the exactly number of subjects. And, some factors that undermine the assumption must be ruled out. If author can complete these recommendations, the assumption will be more reasonable.