The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the editorial from local newspaper, it has been stated that the opponents of motorist's lobby plan to add another lane to blue highway advocated that bicycle lane can be constructed to ease highway traffic issues. Opponent concluded this based on the issue faced by green highway as well as the interest of local people. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, three question must be answered.

First of all, are green and blue highway comparable ? Circumstances for one can be used for generalization for another?

It is possible green and blue highway are not same at all - perhaps green highway run through residential , where blue is located in rural unpopulated area. thus there is possibility that quality of highway is different with green falling apart and blue in pristine condition. If either of this has merit ,then conclusion in original is weaken.

Secondly, do majority of area resident interest in biking live within biking distance from their employment? Opponent prematurely assumed that many of residential in town will take bike to work in morning than driving their cars. If the working distance from home is more than 15 miles, will it be ideal to choose to bike to work, maybe not , it will take much of their time and energy to reach their destination. This seems unfeasible. If above is true, then argument holds no water.

Thirdly, are this added bicycle lane safe? Any accident in this lane doesn't hamper the traffic? It is assumed that constructing blue lane reduces rush hour traffic, but the traffic jam that results through accident in blue lane is not mentioned. Adding a bicycle lane near a main highway is risky, it can cause disastrous accident which ultimately result in more traffic rush .If this is true , then the argument seems flawed.

In conclusion: the argument , as it stands now, is considerably flaw due to several unwarranted assumption. If author is able to answer above these question and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to test viability of proposed recommendation to add a bike lane to blue highway.