The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It might seem logical at first to believe that a lower level of physical fitness is directly related to the predominantly heavy usage of computers, however the passage states that , the above mentioned reasoning is incorrect and lays out various facts and statements that show that why is the fitness level of the citizens residing in Corpora is very low. The passage makes some assumptions in order to state and prove it's point of view. We need to analyze and make our findings against these assumptions.

The first major assumption is that how has the mindset of the people across the span of 20 years changed. The methods and standards of physical fitness evaluation have drastically changed over the span of 20 years. The current generation is more focused on fitness that the generation 20 years ago.This can be due to a gradual rise in the awareness that has been brought about by their current health minister who happens to be a former Olympian. Hence it is illogical to have a fair and impartial comparison amongs't the two of them.

Secondly, the claim is made that continuous usage of computers affects the physical evaluation score. This is refuted by stating that some of the fittest individuals in Corpora, belong to the regions where there has been a heavy usage of computers. The major flaw in this assumption is that it is not mentioned anywhere that those whose use computers for long durations, what is their physical fitness. Someone may be both fit and also uses the computer regularly, whereas it too broad a claim made in the passage. Not every citizen may fall into the above category and hence this assumption is severely faulted.

Lastly, the author attributes a lower physical fitness score to the purchasing power of the citizens of Corpora due to a recent decline in the economy. He states that due to decline in the money spent on fitness related equipment and services, the overall fitness score has reduced. But does everyone need the services and use of special equipment for keeping oneself fit. Most probably, even in the absence of money spent, the citizens of Corpora will find alternate methods to keep themselves fit.

Hence we need to address these assumptions and logical flaws that have appeared in the recent health magazine. By doing these we can ensure a higher fitness score and evaluation.