The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article appears in a petition sent to the residents of Youngtown region. It is stated that some authorities are willing to sell some land to Smith Corporation. They feel that by doing this the region surrounding Youngtown Wildlife Reserves which is home to 300 bird species will be affected drastically. The argument has some unstated assumptions and irregularities in them which we need to justify and prove their credibility.

The first assumption that is made by the residents is that by allowing the construction of a small hotel in the wildlife preserves, it will dampen the natural environment. But it fails to take into account that Smith Corporation is famous for constructing environmentally friendly and sustainable lodges and hotels. If they are renonwed for their success in this particular field of constructing, then they will surely keep up to their reputation and build and eco-friendly resort. Th residents fail to take this factor into consideration while filing the petition.

Another major fear that resides in the residents of Youngtown is that Smith Corporation will initially build the hotel in the land allocated to them, but in the near future they may use their power and influence and stake claim over the entire wildlife preserve.Even though Smith Corporation has promised to no do any harm to the sanctuary the residents feel they can't be trusted.To avoid this the residents should form a legal agreement with the corporation to safeguard their interests. Also the area and location of the hotel is not mentioned anywhere in the petition. If Smith Corporation selects the area to construct the hotel at the outskirts or at the boundary of the sanctuary then it is as good as the hotel neighbouring the Wildlife Preserve. Thus it won't cause any significant damage as expected or predicted by the residents of Youngtown.

On the flip side if the construction of a small hotel acts as an impetus, towards the development of the lifestyle and economic condition of the local residents. Such a motive may favour both the parties in the argument. Increase in tourism will enhance the socio-economic development of the region, give rise to more employment opportunities and can completely change the landscape of the region forever.

Thus with the help of the above claims and proof against the validity of the assumptions, we can conclusively state that the argument made above is incorrect. The residents need to first consider the possible ramifications of the claims they are making. As the way it stands the argument is illogical and even if a single one of these assumptions or claims is proved false, then the plausibility and structure of the argument is weakened.