Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim mentioned above is in harmony with the understanding and way of thinking and processing an idea. Majority of individuals agree to the claim made above. I am strongly in favor of this theory. The claim and reason made above which go hand in hand have often been subjected to widespread censure.

Firstly, it has been historically mentioned that there have been various disputes about the acceptance of new theories and principles. When the two contrasting points of views are juxtaposed , is only when we find out the strength and stability of the individuals making and supporting their claims. The rigidity and validity of the theories is tested thoroughly.

When a new and popular theory, which drastically disapproves of the conservative model is summoned to the argument table, it is one of the very rare moments in which we can cogently state our point of view and make an effort to bring about a change in the way of thinking and mindset of the people. It is only when a boat is sinking , it's commanders true belief and patriotism towards the idea is tested.

Although exceptions are present , the claim followed by it's reasoning are not always preferred. They should be used only when the matter at stake is going out of hands. It is one of the last measures one can use. In a general case, we should avoid trying to change the mindset of a particular class or sect of people as they may unwelcome it. Without opting to the last resort , we should peacefully try to make and try to widespread our side of the argument convincingly.

Hence by using the above points, I restate my support in favor of the argument made above. It is my firm opinion that by mutual discussions, debates and conversations we can accurately justify the reasoning and depth of any argument. It is only under the state of absolute duress and necessity is ones true colors are exposed.