Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads,etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the unstated assumptions of the argument above and explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage presented above indicates that people who indulge in roller-skating are more likely to be prone to accidents due to the lack of using quality safety equipment and by doing roller-skating in areas such as parking lots etc. These assumption made are fallacious and need some concrete evidence by the author of this passage to warrant his justifications and claims made in the passage.

The facts and figures presented in the article are derived from the statistics of a hospital. It states that out of the sample size of people evaluated 75 percent of them, who are involved in accidents, do not use proper safety equipment. But the people who are included in this statistics may be beginners who might have just started learning roller-skating on their own without proper guidance or coaching. These individuals are naturally more prone to injury and accidents than professional and trained experts in the sport. But now where it is mentioned about the sample size or the level of individuals who are being evaluated for their record in the statistics. This leads to a serious doubt in the accuracy and veracity of the hospital statistics.

Another major assumption made is about the fact that majority of the accidents are being caused due to lack of proper safety equipment and adherence to wearing protective clothing. Generally any sort of equipment associated with sporing or safety measures is expensive. The author assumes that everyone can afford the clothing and safety equipment. This may not be always true as it is now where mentioned or referenced about the financial background of these skaters. Also it is not stated in the passage about the quality of safety equipment and clothing. A rider may be wearing all the required equipment, but if it's quality is poor then it makes absolutely no sense in wearing it. Hence to make such a claim is illogical.

Lastly the author states with the help of the statistics that 75 percent of the surveyed people have had accidents in streets or parking lots. These are areas of high population and very high frequency of motor transport. So the probability for someone to be injured in these areas while doing roller-skating with the use of good quality safety equipment also increases drastically. An accident involving cars, bikes or even trucks are most likely lethal and cause a lot of damage to the individual.

Thus with the help of the above assumptions made we can clearly state that the passage written by the author is unfounded. If any of the claims are proven to be incorrect then it seriously hurts and undermines the stability, structure and validity of the argument made above.