Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two views presented above are strikingly ironical in comparison with each other. The former view takes into consideration the enhancement and overall development of a locality, region, which is brought about by the logical responsibility of the respective corporations. The latter view is most likely made by a greedy person whose sole intention is to amass and accumulate wealth in moral and ethical ways. Of the two views presented , I agree with the former ideology.

Firstly, with the turn of the decade a lot of pressure has been mounted on big corporations for planning and achieving a holistic approach towards the society. The establishment of huge and grandiose factories in any part of the world tremendously bolsters the economic and social activity of the region. For example, When Amul built is major factory in a rural village in the state of Gujrat, the ramifications of this step is seen today. The establishment of big factory of a corporation provides many job opportunities for the locals. It increases tourism, which in turn increases the need for a robust transportation system. This leads to an overall change in the landscape and the lives of the locals, which promotes their overall development and also has many positive effects.

Moreover the recent changes in the mindsets of individuals towards the operating and management of corporations and big companies has seen a drastic change. As opposed to earlier times, nowadays a lot of importance is being laid on the reciprocity that occurs between the employer and the employee, in general the common man. The current generation focuses more on the practical aspects, rather than adopting a bookish approach. This in turn puts more emphasis on the companies, so that they ensure that their employees and the customers that they serve are always kept satisfied.

The ideology that the sole intention and purpose of the corporations was only to mint and amass wealth is an outdated one. Even though the practices and methods adopted by the companies may be ethical, at the end of the day it is the organizations responsibility to ensure that while money-making is important for financial reasons, it cannot supplement it by getting away with what was normal and accepted until now.

In conclusion, the examples and points of views stated and mentioned above restate my support and favor towards the first argument. The best case scenario for a huge corporation is to collectively think about both the ideas and try to strike a balance between both of them.