Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Modern societies are comprised of a complex class and strata of people residing in them. For every individual who is a member of such a society, there are certain rules, regulations and laws that need to be adhered to in order to establish a harmonious society. However the statement that every individual who is a member of the society must obey the just rules and resist the unlawful ones seems too far fetched.

Firstly, our societies comprise of a mixed category of people, originating and hailing from different backgrounds and ideologies. Every individual's thought process and expectation, by following these laws is varied. What may seem a fair and equal law to some members may be harmful, unjust and dangerous to others and so on and so forth. But that doesn't imply that every unjust law is rejected. People learn to live and modify their lives around it.

Many modern societies have unfair and unjust distribution of power. This results in a state of monarchy and the beliefs of only like-minded people are considered, thus neglecting the ideas and views of the lower class. Thus laws that were initially beneficial and meant for the good-will of all, has now been monopolized and the lower class are being exploited. Thus the section of society that lacks authority and power adjusts to these laws.

However there are exceptions in which the battle against some unjust laws and practices requires the unified effort of the combined society. These are the laws in which one has to resit and fight it back as it's continued presence is harmful towards the growth of society. For example the Sati practice. A combined fight against this practice shows that such dastardly laws can be eliminated.

Hence by stating and explaining the above points, I am against the stand that every individual in a society is expected to abide by the fair laws and reject the unjust laws. Common differences arise in every aspect of life in a society, but the original motive of a society, which is living in peace and harmony together should not be forgotten.