The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article that is present in a letter to a aeronautics maganize, when read carefully and when it's motives and intentions are understood we realize that there are several flaws and assumptions that are being made just on the reliance and results of some tests. If these assumptions and claims are not justified or proved incorrect then it may seriously harm the reputation and raise questions over the credibility of the space agencies.

Initially let us consider the primary reson of space travel. It has been mankind's greatest desire to explore the universe. The primary reson for the current advancements in technology and space travel is due to the fact we want humans to explore space and various other planets, not some robots or some drones. Even though robots may be much more accurate and helpful than humans, they cannot repalce human presence in space missions. For example, in the case of an asteroid attack or any situation that occurs, the mind of human present up there always considers the emotional as well as the practical aspect of the calamity at hand. A robot in the situation of crisis, may do whatever it is programmed to do, but there is a vast disparity in reality and in preparing a robot action.

The resarch that has been conducted in proving the point that the presence of humans is far more risky than a controlled or free robot or drone seems illogical. The current boom in the area of space missions is space colonizations and space tourism. With earth's resources being depleted at a rapid rate, many agencies and private space companies are exploring the option of colonizing on Planet Mars. If such a scenario were to occur, then we need to send humans for trials in the preliminary stages before making the plan a viable one. Hence in such scenarios and instances, human presence is of utmost importance.

But the point that the article in the magazine tries to make is that in missions where we need to send basic necessities or repletion of stocks and supplies, we can consider sending the satellites and rockets unmaned as preferred to manned. With recent strides made in the development and usage of drones, we can also modify them to environments where they can fly, explore and cover greater distances in a much smaaler time. This can provide us with a tremendous amount of information about the planets resources and many more characteristics.

Thus the viability of the mission should be considered, before making the desicion of whether to send unmanned or manned space missions. The presence of humans and the kind of intelligence one can bring in a situation of calamity is unparalled as to that a unmanned mission or a robot can achieve. The above flaws and assumptions in the magazine article need to be corrected otherwise the clarity and soundness of the argument becomes invalid.