An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement made by a certain ailing patient that an individual undergoing treatment under a certain doctor should have access to the doctor's history and past records of treating similar patients. Though this seems a valid an plausible claim to make on behalf of the patient's side, on the doctor's side of view it is completely illogical. I completely disagree with this notion expressed by the patient.

When a patient visits a doctor for consultation and treatment of a certain ailment, the patient goes a with a view and understanding that the doctor will cure the ailment. Some doctors are speciailzed in treatment of certain diseases like cancer etc, or any ailment pertaining to any other part of the body. Medicine as a field involves a tremendous research and is long lasting and requires several years of meticuluous practice and study. By expressing a claim that the patient under treatment needs access to the data and records of the doctor for similar cases throws the doctor's experience and his credentials into a mix. The patient says that he is not satisfactory or feels that the doctor's method of treatment is not doing any good on him and hence he wants the past records of the doctor's cases with patients with similar ailments. By doing this it can give rise to widespread protocols and temporary ban by the doctor's community. They may go on a strike and claim that there is no sense if the patients cannot trust them to do their job effectively.

The patient's claim of him needing access to the doctor's records is a direct attack on the doctor's validity as a doctor. It takes years of specialized study and a plethora of experience to be a doctor in today's day and age. Therefore if a patient, for example is being cured for a clot in the brain, and he preemptively looks online in the internet or asks hi friends about the process of the treatment, he is going to end up with half and dangerous knowledge. The minute and subtle differences that occur in the case of a brain clot is known only to a doctor who has specialized in the field and has credible experience with him.Thus a patient with such half-knowledge may not only tarnish his relationship with the doctor but also may have himself not treated by anyone.

On the other hand if the patient is himself a doctor or someone who has the fundamental and releavent knowledge to the matter or ailment at hand, in such cases the patient can suggest some recommendations. But with the delicacy and skill that is involved in this profession, I think it is best if we leave it up to the doctor's to decide the course and plan of treatment for a particular patient.

Thus with the help of the above claims and example's made I reiterate my point of view. The claim made by the author in the question is incomplete, illogical and fallacious. It has nothing to support it's side the way it is presented and interpreted. By making such claims we are disrespecting the doctor's who treat and cure us. Insted of that we should be more beneficial and express our gratitude towards them.