The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.

”Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following article that has appeared in the local newspaper has a lot of fallacies and assumptions being made upfront. These assumptions have to be warranted and justified, otherwise they severely undermine the plausibility and stability of the argument. These illogical ideas need to be proven incorrect due to which individuals residing in Masontown have a much limpid understanding of the matter at hand, which is the issue regarding costs related to garbage disposal and recycling.

The major assumption made is that the law passed in Hayesworth town if similarly copied and implemented in Masontown will yield the same results. We need more information about the two towns which being compared, to help substantiate the above claim. It is possible that citizens of Hayesworth town are much more vigilant about the issues regarding garbage disposal and recycling as opposed to citizens of Masotown. There excessive action and indulgence in these matters may have forced the municipal authority of Hayesworth town to pass some laws regarding recycling of paper and glass. Also a branch of the above assumption can be made that the what are points that are being stated in the laws and how are they unique to Hayesworh town.

Another assumption that we can clearly seen being made is that the time frame in which the effects of the laws that have been passed in Hayesworth town are visible. It must have taken some time for the new laws to be put in place and also people getting accustomed to them. The entire process could take some months or a year to be completely effective. Therefore if and when such similar thoughts arise in the minds of the citizens or local authorities of Masontown, they need to keep the time frame and acceptability of the laws amongs't the public in mind.

Finally, it may be election year for the municipal corporation in the town of Hayesworth. Thus the passing of such laws may seem as an attempt to gain more votes and expand the voter base. It is most likely an attempt to increase the respective ruling party's dominance and control over the city, and may seem much less of an attempt toward genuine enviromental concerns.

Thus by observing and explaining the errors in the assumptions made above we can clearly state that these points under consideration need to be thoroughlly examined. Even if one of the above points is proven illogical and false, it drastically affects the structure, validity and stability of the argument. The assumption made that, since the town of Hayesworth reduces the cost of garbage disposal , will also work correctly for Masontown is a bit far fetched. Advertising about the importnace of garbage disposal and recycling of paper and glass may not prove effective in Masontown.