An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage above states that the deficiency of vitamin A among the citizens of the nation of Tagus can be overturned by the introduction of a new and powerful variant of a drug which is rich in vitamin A. Furthermore the passage clearly makes some assumptions which we need to be justified and they need to be buttressed with facts and evidences. Absence of these valid theories and justifications will help prove the soundness of the argument made by the author.

The primary assumption being made is that in the nation of Tagus , it's citizens are suffering from some ailment or disease which is due to a lack of vitamin A. The survey or statistics that were deployed to gather data to arrive this conclusion need to be checked.It may happen that the conditions under which the data for the survey was collected was incorrect with respect to the reality on ground. The validity and the quality of the data gathering method needs to be checked and also it;s veracity need to be observed. If we find aberrations or anomalies in the data, then we can state that the disease or ailment may be present only among a specific age-group or a distinct class of people.

The proposed solution to this problem is a new breed or variant of a millet tablet which is rich in Vitamin A. It is also stated that the government of Tagus should actively promote and advertise this new drug, to completely subdue the problem. But before making a widespread claim about the effectiveness of the drug, it needs to be tested and administered to a variety of people , with different prior physical ailments, like diabetes, high blood pressure etc to ensure that there is no side effects. The passage assumes that the the drug will have a 100 percent success rate, but before making such an assumption or any such sort of claims, one need to do a radical check and thorough analysis of it's possible ramifications.

Lastly, the new alternative is said to be composed of millet. Though it is stated that millet constitutes an important aspect of the regular diet of the citizens of Tagus, the author assumes that the people will be inured to it when they will receive it in the form of medication. But that seems highly illogical. Humans when consume vegetables have a lot of vitamins in them, but the corresponding intake of these vitamins in the form of tablets and capsules cause harm to the human body over a longer span of time. Also ,even though the farmers are given additional subsidies to grow more of millet plants, one needs to account for the fact that does growing, millet seeds as opposed to other other plants have a profitable aspect on the farmer.

Thus with the help of the above stated assumptions and their possible rectifications we can clearly state that the passage is fallacious. These assumptions and claims need to be backed to further evidence. Even if a single one of these assumptions is proven incorrect, then it drastically undermines the structure and stability of the article.