People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claim made above states that by explaining the logic and true motive of a decision after it's implementation we are undermining the decision make's clarity of thought and also his credentials as a decision maker. There is a lot of important factors that go into making a decision , that may end up having a large number of significant ramifications and impact on the customers and employees that seemed to benefit from the services of the organization earlier.

As we know that a decision taken has some impact on the common people, we need to understand the true motive behind the decision being taken. Sometimes a decision is taken without considering the kind of impact and effect it may. As per the claim made in the passage we can infer that the author assumes that such decisions, are called upon for their lack of success. At that time justifying the motive and implementation of the decision is unethical as it obviously states that the decision maker had not given prior thought before making the decision. Thus in occurrence of such a scenario we can clearly state that the person or group that undertook this responsibility as poor decision makers.

For example, consider a company like HUL which mass produces various commodities that are most commonly used by all of us. If tomorrow the company takes an abrupt and quick decision to cut down on it's work staff or increase the average value of it's products, it will have a lot of effects. Customers will buy from rival brands that make use of this opportunity. Now the key factor is to understand why did the company take such a decision hastily. At that point in time if the CEO or the decision maker does not have a plausible or cogent justification to it, then it may very well cost him his job.Thus when massive corporations undertake any decision a lot of though and clarity is put into it. The possible ramifications of the decision taken are evaluated and juxtaposed against each other. A lot of experts and shareholders are consulted, the effect of the decision on the market and profitability towards the organization and a plethora of other factors and parameters need to be considered.

However even though the claim made above seems unethical and against all possible rules, there are always exceptions that occur. A decision taken suddenly and hastily may end up having good outcomes. Even though at the point of making the decision the outcomes may not have been as luck or fortune may have it in some cases it may end proving to be actually and logically beneficial to everyone. At that time the decision makers are termed as visionaries or heroes.

Thus from the passage we can conclude that there are two sides to every coin and there are the pros and cons of every case. To term someone as a poor decision maker we need to really understand the motives and the ideology behind the making of that decision. Thus to term someone as a poor decision maker seems like a blunt instrument to use and may end tarnishing the image and reputation of that individual forever.