Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument mentioned above states that inflated grades given by professors to students , results in a lack of students from Omega University being able to secure jobs. The passage takes into consideration the data of another college to support it's viewpoint. But the argument made above takes some major assumptions while arriving at this conclusion. These assumptions need to be justified and need evidence which can successfully warrant their claims.

The initial and major factor in evaluating is that what are the criteria and evaluation metrics that are used for rating the professors. From the passage above , we can deduce that inflated and sudden changes in the grades of students may arise from the fact that the professors face the risk of losing their jobs if their ratings are below a specific level. Students exploit these gaps in the system and give unfair grades to even the best of the faculty. This in turn puts pressure on the professors and the way out of this , is to give the students higher grades than normal. This discrepancy in the data and the system needs to be checked and a much more robust management needs to be implemented.

The second assumption being made is that the overall grades increased by 30 percent since this new policy came into effect. The time span mentioned if of 15 years and it is a significant amount of time for an new policy and law to have it's up's and downs. It might me possible that 15 years ago the professors at Omega University may no be fully satisfied with this new policy, but in this span of 15 years the policy may have undergone several changes. So so state that a logical comparison can be made between the two cases is illogical. Probably in these 15 years there has been an increase in the number of hardworking students studying in the college and these students are bound to score higher grades. The increase of 30 percent is also subject to the validity and efficacy of the survey being conducted that gives out these numbers. The methods and the type of questions asked may vary in this span of 15 years and hence any statistical data being presented needs a proper justification towards it.

Lastly the author of this passage makes a comparison with another university in terms of the number of the students securing jobs. It may be possible that the number and quality of companies arriving at Alpha University are much greater and well known as compared to Omega University. The student quality at Alpha University may be generally much more qualified than that at Omega University and this significant factor affects the jobs being secured. Thus it makes absolutely no sense to compare and contrast these Universities in terms of the jobs secured.

Thus to put the entire blame on inflated grades and a failure of the professor evaluation process is a bit uncalled for. By stating and warranting the above the assumptions and gaps in the passage we can clearly draw some conclusions. These holes in the passage made above need to be justified with sufficient evidence for it to hold true. Even if one of these assumptions is proved false then it severely reduces the stability and validity of the argument made above.