The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

This argument seems plausible at the beginning but is not well articulated. Many factors in the argument are not well defined. Further, to know more about the passage we must stead it in a detail considering all the evidences.

Primarily, the fitness status of the Corpora’s citizens is noted as a quarter of total population, which was 50%, about 20 years back. Comparison is made by the author amongst two irrelevant sources. Fitness levels about twenty years back are nothing but staying healthy without any issues regarding your body. The level of fitness has differed at a large extent from then to now. Now one is supposed to have a fit body and is also expected to go to gym every day, and if they manage to have a 6 pack or good structure that would be more effective. Whereas, this wasn’t the scenario 20 years back, nothing was expected from the people but just to be healthy. This comparison is equipped with flaws.

Secondly, overall fitness levels are marked highest in the highest computer owned regions, which might not necessarily imply that the people in the computer owned region are just fit without doing any fitness activities. Not having a computer while not doing the fitness regime wouldn’t help! In the same way having a computer and not doing a fitness regime is also helpless. One has to be aware of their fitness and work accordingly. Having or not having a computer wouldn’t make much of a difference. Yes! There might be a problem with the computers as one has to sit continuously in front of it to operate which would have a negative effect on the body, but we do not know how many hours are they operating. The case of having a computer and not using it is also to be considered.

Finally, author says that the economy has had a great effect on the purchase of fitness instruments, which resulted in very few sales. The economy implies the whole country and not just a single city. As we are talking about a single city the clauses might differ. The economy changes from city to city. Further, the author says fitness equipment’s have not been purchased which caused decrease in the fitness of the population. One who is interested in getting fit doesn’t wait to purchase the equipment but goes out to the gym and works. The fee for gym per month can be chosen according to the wish of the person, as we have enormous number of gyms available out there. It shows the lack of interest in the people. There are many more factors which are to be known to trace the actual reason behind the decrease in the fitness and to evaluate the argument.

To sum up, concluding that, economy has to increase to have a better fitness is absurd. The argument seems to lack a good stand. Author has to take care of many other factors before coming to a conclusion.